The First Post

Dear reader,

It’s hard to believe that I am halfway through my junior year. Sometimes I feel like I just started the year a few days ago. My time in AP Lang has gone by quite quickly, but nevertheless I have enjoyed every minute of it. One aspect of the class that I have enjoyed the most is the opportunity to have a weekly blog and talk to people through each post.

Before I was in AP Lang, I hadn’t even the faintest idea or interest of starting a blog. I didn’t even know WordPress as well as I do now and all the neat things you could do with it. In fact, starting a blog was one of the last things I wanted to do at first and when we were told that we would have to start one, I started panicking inside. I had a million questions floating in my head like, “What should I write about?” “What should I title my blog?” “How will my work look like in the blog?” and so on.

When it was finally time to start my introductory post, I struggled a lot. The ideas just wouldn’t come, but I slowly started having ideas to write about my blog name. And so, I did. After I finished writing the post, I was feeling not at all confident, but told myself that this is just the first in many more posts. Cringing, I pressed the publish button and hoped for the best. Over the course of a few days, I started to get comments from people, and they surprised me, because they said that I did a good job.  I was over the moon and was starting to get excited about the prospect of having this blog.

Since then, I have fully enjoyed every prompt, whether or not the answer of what to write comes easy to me. With every post, I feel like I have an opportunity to grow as a writer and that makes me excited for what prompt I get next. To me, the blog posts don’t feel like homework. They feel like an opportunity to grow.

What about you, dear reader? Have you ever had an experience that you were not either interested in or nervous about doing only to find out that you loved it in the end?

-Kinya

One thought on “The First Post

Leave a Reply

