The Power Of Community

Dear reader, let me ask you a couple of questions. Have you let someone else read what you have read outside the classroom or the school environment? Were you nervous of what he or she would say about your writing? After the other person read your work, and made comments, did you see your writing improve as a result of what he or she made comments on?

Letting other people see your writing outside the school environment can help improve your writing and see things from a new perspective. Now, I’m not saying that letting people see your work at school is a bad thing, but letting people outside school see your work can let the you see the piece of writing from a new perspective. It might be a little daunting at first, but it might eventually become a part of your own writing process.

So one question that might be asked is where to start. Who should you let see your work first? The people closest to you are your family, so try starting from there. Present the piece of writing to one or both of your parents and ask them to make comments. That’s where I started. I took my writing to my dad and asked him to read it focusing only on the content and if it made sense. I then asked him to read it again with knowledge of the subject and see if the argument that I was making was pertaining to the subject. After he had read it and made comments, I then saw what I could do better with the piece of writing.

Community doesn’t only have to be your family. It can be your friends, former or present teachers, or relatives. Anyone who you trust to read and comment on your work can be counted as your own personal community. Your community will continue to grow as you meet new people and at the end of the day, you will become a stronger and better writer. Try sharing your writing with those you trust and see the results for yourself.

-Kinya

3 thoughts on “The Power Of Community

  1. It’s actually quite amazing how I almost hear you say these things. Yeah, that may be slightly creepy– sorry about that haha. I love how, instead of just being like, “Dear Readers, get on with in,” you gave your own personal experience and examples. I also love how you defined community at the end of the blog 🙂
    However, on the sentence, “After the other person read your work, and made comments, did you see your writing improve as a result of what he or she made comments on?”, you have an extra comma between the word ‘work’ and ‘and’.
    Other than that, I loved reading your perspective on this 😀

    Like

  2. Kinya, I loved how you incorporated your personal experience into your post. I think that just made your argument stronger. I also liked how you defined community at the end, and built up its importance through out your post.
    You don’t have to change this but, I think you don’t need the “Let me ask you a couple of questions,” I think it would draw a reader in to just jump into the questions. This is because the reader would not know that you are going to ask a question, and would want the answer to it.
    Other than that, well done!

    Like

  3. Kinya, I like the direction you took this. You say that “letting other people see your writing outside the school environment can help improve your writing and [help you] see things from a new perspective.” I would love an example of what you mean by this. How is getting feedback OUTSIDE of school different from getting feedback INSIDE school? You give us the example of taking your writing to your dad, but you don’t quite explain what difference that made or how that was different from getting feedback from your classmates. It’s an intriguing point, it just needs to be developed a bit further.

    Like

Leave a Reply

